Home Exhibition Gallery About Credits

Symbols of the University

The Cornell Public Library

Cornell’s Twelve Presidents

Inaugurating the Presidents

Andrew Dickson White, 1868
Charles Kendall Adams, 1885
Jacob Gould Schurman, 1892
Livingston Farrand, 1921
Edmund E. Day, 1937
Deane W. Malott, 1951
James A. Perkins, 1963
Dale R. Corson, 1969
Frank H. T. Rhodes, 1977
Hunter Ripley Rawlings III, 1995
Jeffrey Sean Lehman, 2003

Inaugurating the Presidents

Hunter Ripley Rawlings III, 1995

Hunter R. Rawlings III was installed as Cornell’s tenth president on Thursday, October 12, 1995 at 3:00 p.m. in Barton Hall. On Wednesday, an academic symposium entitled “History and Humane Values in American Life,” moderated by Michael Kammen, took place in the Alice Statler Auditorium. On Thursday, “A Cornell Sampler” provided campus tours and exhibits, and from 1 p.m. to 2 p.m. President and Mrs. Rawlings greeted members of the Cornell community at a reception on the Arts Quad. The inaugural procession of nearly 1,000 student leaders, faculty, trustees, alumni, and delegates proceeded from the Arts Quad, with members of the campus community lining the way. Symbols of the Inauguration included the Mace, the Great Seal, and the University Charter.

In his inaugural address before a crowd of almost 6,000 new and old friends, Hunter R. Rawlings III sounded a clarion call to members of the Cornell University community, inviting them to join with him in composing a new Cornell - “a Cornell we can now only imagine.” In his address, titled “To Compose Cornell: Cultivating the Mind,” Rawlings charged Cornellians everywhere with the task of helping to reinvent and reinvigorate the campus community. “The cultivation of the human mind for the sake of the individual, together with its moral improvement for the sake of society, remains the University’s fundamental reason for being,” said Rawlings. He concluded by underscoring his belief that students are at the heart, and make up the soul, of the academic enterprise. The installation ceremony was followed immediately by a buffet reception for 2,000 invited guests at the Field House, and the day ended with Cirque de Cornell, a student, faculty and staff performance festival of musical and theatrical productions in Barton Hall.

<<  Prev | Next >>


Inauguration of Hunter Rawlings
Five of Cornell's presidents convened during the inauguration of Hunter Rawlings. Presidents James Perkins, Frank Rhodes, Hunter Rawlings, Dale Corson, Deane Malott (clockwise from lower left).


Congratulations from Lee Teng-hui
Lee Teng-hui, President of the Republic of China, sent his congratulations to President Rawlings.