Home Exhibition Gallery About Credits

Symbols of the University

The Cornell Public Library

Cornell’s Twelve Presidents

Inaugurating the Presidents

Andrew Dickson White, 1868
Charles Kendall Adams, 1885
Jacob Gould Schurman, 1892
Livingston Farrand, 1921
Edmund E. Day, 1937
Deane W. Malott, 1951
James A. Perkins, 1963
Dale R. Corson, 1969
Frank H. T. Rhodes, 1977
Hunter Ripley Rawlings III, 1995
Jeffrey Sean Lehman, 2003

Inaugurating the Presidents

Dale R. Corson, 1969

Dale R. Corson had been at Cornell for 23 years, rising from Assistant Professor of Physics to Provost, before he was chosen to be the university’s eighth President on September 5, 1969. His naming as President was marked with a dinner at the time of the announcement, and his formal investiture took place at Commencement ceremonies in Barton Hall on Monday, June 8, 1970. A guest speaker, Dr. Julius A. Stratton, Chairman of the Board of the Ford Foundation and President Emeritus of MIT, spoke on “The President and his University, 1970.” Robert W. Purcell, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, presented the University Mace to Dr. Corson.

In his formal address, Corson said:
The last several years have been increasingly critical and traumatic for the country as a whole and for the universities. Cornell has been no exception. I would . . . express the hope that all of us may learn increasingly to respond to these problems out of a deep sense of our common destiny.

The Glee Club sang and the degree ceremony proceeded. On Sunday, the Board of Trustees hosted a dinner in honor of President Corson at the Memorial Room in Willard Straight Hall.

<<  Prev | Next >>