Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University: A Descriptive Guide

Prepared by Jeanne A. White
with a contribution on archival materials prepared by Elaine D. Engst

Contents

Dedication
Overview of Cornell's Ornithology Collections

• Cataloging Information | Helpful Tips for Researchers

Hill Ornithology Collection

• Scope
  Early Works to 15th Century
  16th and 17th Centuries
  18th Century
  • British artists & authors
    
    • Edwards, Pennant, Latham, Catesby, Bewick

    French artists & authors

    • Brisson, de Buffon, Le Vaillant, Vieillot, Audebert

    Other 18th Century artists & authors

  Early- to Mid-19th Century

  • American artists & authors
    • Wilson, Audubon, Others

    European artists & authors
    British artists & authors

    • Swainson, Gould, Others

    French artists & authors

  Late-19th Century

  • British artists & authors
    • Sclater and others

    American artists & authors

    • Baird, Elliott, Jones Family

  Advent of Chromolithography (19th c.)
  Birds around the world (other geographical areas & special collections, 19th c.)
  20th Century
  Use of the Hill Collection and Contact Information

Ornithology Collection in Mann Library

• History & Cataloging Information | Subject Holdings | Journals & Serial Publications | Use of Collection

Ornithology Library at Cornell Lab of Ornithology

Ornithology Manuscript Material in Division of Rare & Manuscript Collections

• History | Faculty Members’ Papers | Other Ornithological Manuscript Collections | Fuertes Collection | Use of Collections

Gifts to the Collections

Reference Sources

Credits

Online guide developed from:

Webpage last revised: 6/10/99 by jfc & clsb.

---

exhibit

guide

search

home