|
|
Use of the Mann Collection
Almost all the ornithological literature in Mann Library is accessible on open shelves
both to the Cornell community and to visitors. In addition, through the Inter-Library
Services network, books may be borrowed or photocopies of material requested by any
library in the country for the use of its patrons.
Most of the Mann Library collection circulates to qualified borrowers. Special rules
govern the length of time certain kinds of material, such as current journals or books on
reserve for course work, may be borrowed. Reference books are limited to building use.
Some particularly valuable or irreplaceable volumes are kept in the Mann vault; these may
be consulted in the building under the supervision of the circulation staff.
The books in the vault may be recent imprints or older titles. Recent imprints placed
in protected status are usually lavishly illustrated limited editions. Some examples are
Forshaw and Cooper's multi-volume Kingfishers and related birds (1983+), R D.
Parker's Birds of Ireland (1984), R. Low's Amazon parrots (1983), J. C.
Harrison's Birds of prey of the British Islands (1980), G. E. Lodge's Unpublished
paintings of birds (1983), and C. G. Finch-Davies's Bird paintings (1984).
Older imprints in the vault may or may not be heavily illustrated, but their scarcity,
fragility, or monetary value dictates special care in handling.
The Mann Library collection includes complete coverage of published and online
reference tools pertinent to the subject of ornithology. Bibliographies, indexes,
histories, dictionaries, encyclopedias, printed catalogs of collections in other
institutions, checklists, and nomenclatures are all acquired consistently. Online access
to current computerized indexing services is available to help the ornithology researcher
or student. Notable online indexes include Biosis Previews (1969+), Zoological Record
(1978+) and, for Poultry Science, AGRICOLA (1982+) and CAB International (1972+).
As mentioned earlier, the ornithology collection in Mann Library is too large to be
described in terms of specific titles in a guide such as this one. Without detailing
specifics, it is difficult to portray accurately the great variety, depth, and richness of
the collection. The prospective student or researcher may safely assume, however, that
Cornell offers as strong and complete support for his or her ornithological studies as any
library system in the country.
Mann Library encourages the use of its substantial resources in ornithology and
welcomes inquiries and visits from any interested person.
Contact Information:
Online guide developed from:
Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University: A Descriptive Guide
Revised Edition, 1999
Ithaca, New York
© 1999 Cornell University Library
Webpage last revised: 6/10/99 by jfc & clsb.
|