|
|
Use of the Hill Collection and Contact
Information
Use of the Hill Collection
As is evident, the Hill Collection contains an impressive amount of important
historical ornithological literature. Only a selection of titles in the collection appears
in this guide. Complete listings and bibliographic records may be found in thenational
library databases, in Cornell University
Library's Online Catalog, and in the Hill Collection online database .
A substantial collection of ornithological reference works, bibliographies, and
histories provides full support for the Hill Ornithological Collection. The classic rare
book bibliographies commonly cited in ornithological catalogs and literature are housed
with the Hill Collection in Cornell's Rare Books and Manuscript Collections, as are
specialized descriptive works concerned with one particular artist, such as Audubon or
Gould. This support material for the Hill Collection, in combination with the reference
tools available in Mann Library, provides the
user of the Cornell University libraries with an array of ornithological reference sources
second to none in the nation.
Because of their rarity or value, the books in the Hill Ornithology Collection do not
circulate, and may be used only in the rare book reading room in Kroch Library. These
restrictions are not meant to discourage use; rather they are intended to ensure that
these valuable works remain intact and available to future generations as well as to
present-day students, scholars, and researchers.
Cornell invites any person with an interest in consulting these books to contact or
visit the Hill Collection in the Division of Rare
and Manuscript Collections in the Carl A. Kroch Library.
Contact Information:
- Hill Ornithology Collection
Division of Rare and Manuscript Collections
Level 2B, Carl A. Kroch Library
Cornell University
Ithaca, New York 14853-5301
Tel: 607-255-3530
Fax: 607-255-9524
Web: http://.rmc.library.cornell.edu
E-mail: rareref@cornell.edu
Online guide developed from:
Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University: A Descriptive Guide
Revised Edition, 1999
Ithaca, New York
© 1999 Cornell University Library
Webpage last revised: 6/10/99 by jfc & clsb.
|