Hill Collection other 18th c. authors
On the continent several important figures stood out. In the mid 18th century Jacob
Theodor Klein [1685-1759], influenced by the thinking of Linnaeus, authored two
important fundamental treatises that are represented in the Hill Collection. The first,
avium prodromos (1750), accepted Linnaeus's use of beak and foot as points of
reference, but varied the Swedish botanist's scheme considerably. Klein's second work, Stemmata
avium (1759), was a detailed study of the feet, heads, and tongues of birds.
Representing another part of the world in the late 18th century, Joseph Franz
Jacquin issued his Beyträge zur Geschichte der Vögel (1784). This work describes
thirty-two birds of Central America, several of which were newly discovered species. Good
colored plates accompany the text. The Hill Collection includes a copy of this interesting
A brief mention of two other titles closes the discussion of the mid- to late-18th
century. The first is Ornithologia borealis (1764), a description of a private
collection of birds of Denmark, Iceland, and Northern Europe, by Morten Thrane Brunnich
[1737-1827]. Brunnich is described by the Danish bibliographer Jean Anker as the founder
of Danish faunistic zoology and was a highly praised systematist.
The second title is the five-volume Ornithologia
methodice digesta atque iconibus aeneis ad vivum illuminatis ornata by Saverio
Manetti [1723-1784], issued in Florence from 1767 to 1776. This ornate work was
illustrated with 600 hand-colored copper plates and contains text in Italian and Latin,
using nomenclature mainly Brisson's nomenclature.
Online guide developed from:
Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University: A Descriptive Guide
Revised Edition, 1999
Ithaca, New York
© 1999 Cornell University Library
Webpage last revised: 6/10/99 by jfc & clsb.