Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University
Dedication
This online guide is dedicated to Kenneth E. and Dorothy V. Hill, in
appreciation of their role in developing the ornithology rare book collection at Cornell
University. Through the Hills' generosity and enthusiasm the ornithological collections in
Cornell University Library have been enriched substantially and will continue to be
enriched for generations to come.
In the mid-1980s, Mr. and Mrs. Hill gave more than 100 of their personal copies of rare
and handsome bird books to Cornell. In the years since they have shared with the library
in purchasing additional important historical ornithological titles. The Hills also
created an endowment that provides regular income to buy additional books for the Hill
Ornithology Collection, and a research endowment which also has made possible the
development of this Web site. In appreciation of their generosity, Cornell University
named the library's collection of rare ornithology books in their honor.
The influence of the Hills, however, extends far beyond these specific contributions.
Stimulated by their interest and support, the Library has intensified its efforts to
strengthen the ornithological collections. This has been particularly significant in
expanding the rare book collection, where earlier funding had not permitted a degree of
attention comparable to that applied to the systematic acquistion of current research
materials in ornithology. Word of this increased activity has spread, prompting others to
give additional rare ornithology books to Cornell.
To Kenneth and Dorothy Hill we affectionately dedicate this guide and Web site. Cornell
University Library cherishes them as friends and benefactors. Future generations of
students and researchers will have good reason to do the same.
Online guide developed from:
Ornithology Collections in the Libraries at Cornell University: A
Descriptive Guide
Revised Edition, 1999
Ithaca, New York
© 1999 Cornell University Library
Webpage last revised: 6/10/99 by jfc & clsb.
|